Marvel Movies In Order

If you want to enjoy the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) marathon in 2021, you’ll need to remember how to watch the Marvel movies in sequence. On this page, we’re going to tell you how to watch the Marvel movies in both chronological and release orders, helping you make sense of the MCU timeline. If you’re only starting WandaVision on Disney Plus, we’re also going to tell you where the story suits.

Disney Plus happens to be a decent starting point if you want to watch Marvel movies in sequence, simply because it has most of them available in 4K. WandaVision is only the first of many canonical MCU TV shows to come to the streaming service: The Falcon and the Winter Soldier will follow in March 2021, Loki will land in May 2021, and Ms. Marvel and Hawkeye will appear in late 2021. Moon Knight, She-Hulk, Armor Wars, Ironheart, and Secret Invasion, Marvel’s originals for the service are also scheduled.

In the meantime, 2021 will see Marvel’s movies’ return to theatres, beginning with Black Widow in May, followed by Shang-Chi and Marvel’s Eternals later that year – assuming that things are going to be scheduled. Both of these would naturally alter the order of this collection of Marvel movies considerably.

So, now that Marvel’s Phase 4 has finally begun with WandaVision let’s get you trapped. Watching MCU movies in order is a great way to spend time – it’s literally the most expensive serialized TV show in the world, which sometimes pays for stories years down the road. Below, we’ll explain how to watch the Marvel movies in chronological order, and we’ll also rank the best Marvel movies.

Here’s the order of the Marvel movies:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (during WWII)
  • Captain Marvel (1995)
  • Iron Man (2010)
  • Iron Man 2 (after Iron Man)
  • The Incredible Hulk (time unspecified, pre-Avengers)
  • Thor (six months before Avengers)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (six months after The Avengers)
  • Thor: Dark World (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (after Guardians)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (post-Civil War, pre-Infinity War)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Black Panther (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2017)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (ambiguous, between IW and Endgame)
  • Avengers: Endgame (starts in 2017, finishes in 2022)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (eight months post-Endgame)

If you want to put Marvel TV in there as well, WandaVision takes place after Endgame, but it’s practically set before Far From Home: WandaVision (three weeks after Endgame)

When 2021 Marvel movies like Black Widow and The Eternals are finally released, along with more Disney Plus shows like The Falcon and Winter Soldier and Loki, we’re going to update this MCU timeline accordingly. Black Widow is supposed to be set after Captain America: Civil War – but it’s not clear if parts of the film will be set sooner or later, so we’ve taken it out of the list for now.

Avengers movies in order

Phase One :

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • Marvel’s The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

Phase Four

  • WandaVision (TV show – January 15, 2021)
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (TV show – March 19, 2021)
  • Black Widow (May 7, 2021)
  • Loki (TV show – May 2021)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (July 9, 2021)
  • The Eternals (November 5, 2021)
  • Ms Marvel (TV show – late 2021)
  • Untitled third Spider-Man movie (December 17, 2021)
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (March 25, 2022) 
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (May 6, 2022)
  • Black Panther 2 (July 8, 2022)
  • Captain Marvel 2 (November 11, 2022)